$show[vbsec2]

Thread: What's wrong with this format?

Default What's wrong with this format?

I got some hate towards this presentation format and I just wanted to know why. I think that its an accurate presentation of how boxart is portrayed in the marketplace, does this not count as an artform? The reality of how most people see boxart? I realize that it's destracting to the art piece but the display itself in realistic. Not mad just wanna hear some thoughts.

http://vgboxart.com/view/76297/sslen...-switch-cover/

http://vgboxart.com/view/76290/banjo...-switch-cover/

I think that the "game leak style" is something that could revitalize the site. Possibly bring in some site traffic. I'm a marketing student lol so just kinda doing an experiment.

A normal presentation draws attention to the box and so is completely focused on it. A thumbnail tests your presentation skills to see how many people you can draw in by the box, again by drawing attention to the box.
    The context of this isn't in a representation of a marketplace, it's on the front page of an amateur art website. Your presentation draws attention to nothing in particular- perhaps the box, but it covers too little of the area of the presentation to be clear that it's showing the box, making it a very ineffective use of space. It does exactly what you're intending it to do- make it look like you've just taken a screenshot of Amazon- but that's not how this website displays art. If it looks too much like a screenshot from Amazon, people will just take it for one and just glance over it.
    To give an analogy, consider the website a museum: you're displaying yours on a large shelf among other goods while others are putting theirs nicely in frames nice and clear for everyone to see.
    It is creative, I'll give you that, but I don't think it'll help you in the long run. Consider making the "screenshot" size significantly smaller so the box takes up more room and ideally is centred.